Isabela Island is the largest island in the Galapagos archipelago. Five huge shield volcanoes make up the island’s backbone. Starting from the north, the volcanoes are Wolf, Darwin, Alcedo, Sierra Negra, and Cerro Azul. These massive volcanoes are all active. Every three years or so, one of the volcanoes erupts.